• Search Results
Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners

15 January 2015

Pritzker Prize Jury Welcomes Richard Rogers

Richard Rogers, 2007 laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize, has joined the jury of The Pritzker Architecture Prize. Tom Pritzker, president of the Hyatt Foundation, said, “Richard Rogers understands architecture in its larger context and is deeply committed to its crucial role in creating liveable cities. In addition to being a Pritzker Laureate, Richard’s humanist perspective will make a substantial contribution to the jury and the message that is the core of the Prize.”

Richard Rogers said, “It is an honour to be invited to join the jury of the Pritzker Architecture Prize, the most prestigious international Architecture Award for a living architect. I continue to be inspired by architects from around the world, and it will be thrilling to be able to review the best of the best with my fellow jurors.”

Lord Peter Palumbo, the chair of the Pritzker Prize jury, said, “Richard Rogers is an architect, an urbanist, and a humanist of the highest order, whose appointment as a jury member of the Pritzker Prize will be widely welcomed, both in the world of architecture and by everybody connected with the prize. On a personal level, I am particularly pleased that Richard has found the time in a very crowded agenda to commit to the prize. The experience and wisdom that he will bring to the table is a hugely valuable resource.”

Richard Rogers becomes the ninth member of the current jury of The Pritzker Architecture Prize, joining Lord Peter Palumbo (chair), Alejandro Aravena, Stephen Breyer, Yung Ho Chang, Kristin Feireiss, Glenn Murcutt, Benedetta Tagliabue, and Ratan N. Tata. The executive director is Martha Thorne. Pritzker Architecture Prize jury members serve for multiple years to assure a balance between current and new members and are entrusted with selecting the laureate each year. No outside observers or members of the Pritzker family are present during jury deliberations and voting. The international jury members are recognised professionals in their own fields of architecture, business, education, publishing, and culture.

The Pritzker Architecture Prize honours a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision, and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture.

The Pritzker family of Chicago established the international prize through their Hyatt Foundation in 1979. The Hyatt Foundation sponsors the prize which is granted annually. It is often referred to as “architecture’s highest honour.” The award consists of US $100,000 and a bronze medallion, conferred on the laureate at a ceremony held each year at a different site throughout the world.